PDA

View Full Version : Seniors plan for future, reflect on four years as Wildcats

thedrifter
05-19-05, 02:37 PM
Seniors plan for future, reflect on four years as Wildcats

Plummer saw school from bird's eye view, Trackster to begin training for Marines

By Sara Stites, Reporter

Thursday, May 19, 2005

Plummer saw school from bird's eye view

Elizabeth Plummer stands only 4-feet-9-inches tall, but the graduating senior still managed to get a bird's eye view of much of her high school career.

A four-year cheerleader, Plummer naturally was often the squad member stacked the tallest and tossed the highest during stunts. Her view from the top afforded her a choice view of Wildcat sports, as well as plenty of other aspects of her four years as a Wildcat.

During her first year, Plummer was terrified to try out the role of flyer, even though everyone convinced her she was built for the job.

"I was scared to death when I was a freshman," Plummer said. "I did not want to do it."

Four years and lots of coaching later, she's learned to embrace it.

"I love doing the dangerous stunts," she said. "It's exciting. It kind of gives you a rush."

Attending DHS after a brother, a sister and a long line of cousins, Plummer said people she didn't know often recognized her right off the bat.

"Everybody said ‘You're a Plummer, aren't you?'" she said.

Still, Plummer said she's been able to carve her own way and follow her own interests.

"I'm a little bit more interactive in the school than my brother and sister were," she said.

Plummer became a member of National Honor Society her junior year. She was a junior varsity cheerleader her freshman year and made the varsity squad for the next three years.

She recently started a job at a party supply store in Olathe.

After graduation, Plummer plans to attend Johnson County Community College and then Emporia State University. She hopes to major in elementary education, fulfilling her lifelong career goal of being a teacher.