PDA

View Full Version : Courage at Mazar-e-Sharif

thedrifter
04-28-05, 04:28 AM
04-26-2005

Courage at Mazar-e-Sharif

Seventh in a series

By Matthew Dodd

As a career Marine officer, I have had many opportunities to serve with and around my Navy counterparts. However, there is a group of elite Navy warriors with whom I have had very little personal interaction and for whom I have a great deal of respect: SEALs.

Before I share with you the battlefield exploits of a recent SEAL Navy Cross hero, let me share with you some passages from an outstanding book by Jeff and Jon Cannon, Leadership Lessons of the Navy SEALs, that do a very good job of describing the SEAL reputation as I know it:

“Professionalism has been a SEAL theme since the first two SEAL teams were formed in 1962. That was when President Kennedy recognized the need for commando shock troops that could counter the growing number of insurrections, guerilla movements, and terrorist organizations in the world .… Despite their Navy lineage, SEALs are as proficient on land as they are in water and in the air, something that is frequently overlooked. They parachute and conduct ambush and sniper operations. They train as heavily in land navigation and land warfare as they do in water operations …. SEALs have a wide range of missions, but each emphasizes technical expertise, organizational integrity, strong but customized leadership, and superb physical conditioning. Loyalty is king.”