View Full Version : The Angel of the Battlefield

thedrifter
03-02-05, 07:19 AM
Sent to me by Mark (Fontman)

The Angel of the Battlefield

DefenseWatch "The Voice of the Grunt"
03-01-2005
by Matthew Dodd

The Bible's Gospel according to John has given the world a definition of the ultimate love between friends: "Greater love hath no man than this, that a man lay down his life for his friends."

The Marine Corps is a tradition-rich warrior culture. The Marine Corps proudly calls itself a "Band of Brothers." As a career Marine officer, I can tell you firsthand that that spirit is alive and well. We Marines also believe that Marines do not abandon their fellow Marines. As a Marine, you instinctively know that you are never alone - you will not be left behind, and you do not leave others behind. Marines are also acutely aware of their duty to preserve the warrior legacy handed down to them.

Let me share with you a story about a very special Marine whose actions bring to life the words and beliefs presented above.

On Jan. 23, 2005, at a short ceremony in front of friends, family, fellow Marines, and his civilian boss - the Orange County Sheriff - in the courtyard at the Marine Corps Reserve Center at Encino, Calif., Sgt. Scott C. Montoya, USMCR, received the Navy Cross from the Commander, Marine Forces Reserve, LtGen. Dennis McCarthy, the Corps' senior three-star general. The Navy Cross is the service's second highest award for extraordinary heroism while engaged in an action against an enemy of the United States. The citation read:

"For extraordinary heroism while serving as a Scout Sniper, Scout Sniper Platoon, 2nd Battalion, 23d Marines, 1st Marine Division, I Marine Expeditionary Force in Support of Operation Iraqi Freedom on 8 April 2003."

For those readers unfamiliar with Marine scout-snipers, let me share an excerpt from my May 10, 2004 article about another scout-sniper issue to help you understand them: