PDA

View Full Version : Pulling himself up the ranks - communications sergeant sets his sights high

thedrifter
02-06-05, 09:37 AM
Pulling himself up the ranks - communications sergeant sets his sights high

Submitted by: 2nd Marine Division
Story Identification #: 20052315354
Story by Cpl. Shawn C. Rhodes

MARINE CORPS BASE CAMP LEJEUNE, N.C. (Feb 3, 2005) -- Many Marines have had the rare opportunity to take a holiday in the civilian world – a chance to see how life flows outside the Marine Corps. Some Marines like Sgt. John D. Irwin, a field radioman with 2nd Tank Battalion here, find the grass isn’t always greener on the other side.

“I was a reservist for eight years when I decided to try something else. I got a bachelor’s degree in accounting and an associate’s degree in business but it didn’t work out,” the 27-year-old from Warner Robins, Ga. said. “You can’t find the stability the military offers anywhere else.”

Irwin wasn’t sure if the Marines were the choice he wanted to make again. With his degree he had his sights set on a commission, and a few services were eager to give it to him.

“I spent about five minutes in the Army recruiter’s office and they were about ready to pin lieutenant bars on me then and there,” Irwin said with a smile. “I realized I’d rather be a corporal in the Marine Corps than a colonel in the Army any day of the week.”

Knowing he wanted to try the Marines again was just the first step for Irwin’s re-entry into the military, though.

“They gave me five choices for jobs I wanted to do,” Irwin recalled. “Being a field radioman wasn’t one of them.”

When fate put the Warner Robins High School graduate in the radio field, he took it by the reins and ran with it.