PDA

View Full Version : Questions from a new Marine

aktual
01-23-05, 11:48 PM
I'm a recent Marine graduate, and I posted a day or so ago that I was going to ask some questions I have about School of Infantry at Camp Pendleton, California before I go in a couple of days. So here goes:

If you don't wish to read all the questions I listed, here's one general question to summarize them all up-- What's life like at SOI for an infantry Marine-in-training?

-What's a typical day like?
-How much free time and liberty?
-What's chow-time like?
-What are commander/trainee relations like? Strict like DI-to-recruit or relatively more relaxed, like Professional-to-Professional?
-What's there to do on base during liberty? Recreation spots?
-How much civilian clothing will I need to bring?
-What other kind of places are there to buy things (clothing, books) besides the Marine Exchange?
-What is the likelihood of my possessions (clothing, cd-player, cellphone, books, etc) that I keep in my wall-locker/footlocker getting damaged?
-How's mail handled? Can we receive packages?
-How many weeks exactly is training?
-Do we get any leave immediately after completion of SOI?
-Where do we go next? Are we assigned to a unit over in Iraq right away?
-If I have a significant other, what kind of opportunities will I have to see her during the next year (that is, the time period following my entrance into the fleet forces)?
-Any financial tips for an unexperienced, green Marine?
-Anything in general I should be warned about?

Also, my ultimate goal is to join Force Recon-- If there are any Recon Marines reading this, any advice and guidance you could offer would most definitely not go unappreciated (that is, advice on how to get into Force Recon and what it takes physically). Thanks.

Thanks for any replies to this. I might not have time to respond to anyone before my flight in a couple of days, so thanks in advance. I feel priviliged to even be asking these questions :) Hoorah!

MillRatUSMC