PDA

View Full Version : The ‘P’ in ‘RHIP’

thedrifter
12-15-04, 06:22 AM
12-14-2004

The ‘P’ in ‘RHIP’

By Matthew Dodd

What the heck is “RHIP” and what does it mean to you?

While researching a previous article, I came across a surprising entry in the index of my Marine Officer’s Guide. This book, given to me when I was commissioned a 2nd lieutenant many lifetimes ago, has served as an initial reference book for thousands of men and women who have been fortunate enough to have been honored with the title of “officer of U.S. Marines.”

The index included “R.H.I.P.,” an old military adage that stands for “Rank Has Its Privileges.” I had heard about and thought about that adage a lot as a junior officer, but not recently. I am not sure if “RHIP” is as widely known or as widely used as when I was a young officer. Let me share with you what the Marine Officer’s Guide had to say about RHIP:

“As an officer you are entitled to take precedence ahead of your juniors and all enlisted men. This privilege is admitted in the service proverb “R.H.I.P” – “Rank has its privileges.” Just when and where you “pull rank” though, is a matter of some delicacy.”

“Generally speaking, you should assert your privilege when your time is circumscribed by duty or when failure to do so would demean your status as a commissioned officer. For example, an officer should not waste his own time and the government’s by falling in line behind privates in a clothing storeroom or hesitate to claim the attention of an administrative functionary hemmed in by enlisted men. Conversely, in situations where all persons are equal, take your place with the others regardless of rank. In the mess, at the barber shop (unless there is an officer’s chair), at the post exchange, or at games, avoid taking advantage of rank.”