PDA

View Full Version : Hypertension

Sgtj
11-14-04, 09:42 AM
I have a question that I’ve tried to research (without any luck) So I am hoping I can get help here. After leaving the Marine Corps in 2002, I applied into federal law enforcement. However, their Dr's said I had high blood pressure. With that I had to go to a private physician and go through a bunch of other BS. Bottom line, is I have to take medication (light dosage for my BP) I am wanting to apply into PLC (I'm in my Jr. year of college) and I was wondering if this is an automatic DQ.

The kicker is, as I started researching MEPS disqualifiers, and saw something about this, I looked through my medical papers. I noticed that my BP was 160/90. My question is why they didn’t say anything to me then.

I appreciate anyone's advice.

S/F
Sgt J:marine:

Arlene Horton
11-14-04, 03:58 PM
Stgj: Having over 30 years as a registered nurse I can help some. A BP of l60/90 isn't really called hypertension. The l60 is in the upper limits but the diastolic of 90 is considered high normal in some areas. They have changed the normals lately and now consider anything over l30/90 as high. The systolic (l30) ranges change depending on whether the patient is uptight, has been smoking (cigarettes) or has "white coat hypertension". That means the patient gets shook up when in a medical setting and is checked by a nurse or physician. If the nurse is pretty all bets are off!! If you are sitting and the meter is read correctly you can have several different ranges. Discuss your l60/90 with a medical professional. You should get the straight scoop. Take care and Semper Fi...

Sgtj
11-14-04, 04:05 PM
Thanks Arlene,

I meet with a Dr. next week. My only worry is that since I am taking meds, I am already dq'ed from going back in.

Sgtj

Arlene Horton
11-14-04, 04:14 PM
Glad to hear that you are seeing a Dr. Being on meds is a bummer. I hope you get good news...I care. Semper Fi

garryh123
11-14-04, 04:23 PM