PDA

View Full Version : Don’t Cheapen True Heroism

thedrifter
08-27-04, 06:31 AM
08-25-2004

Don’t Cheapen True Heroism

By Ralf W. Zimmermann

In response to my recent article on eroding military values (“Social Engineering Ruined Our Soldiers,” DefenseWatch, Aug. 11, 2004), a fine infantry sergeant asked me to address the misinterpretation of the meaning of “hero” in American society today.

In his letter he said, “The lack of a true hero seems to be the main cause why today’s soldiers act as arrogantly as they do. They’ve been told by every media talking head that they are ‘heroes’ for merely doing their jobs. Sadly, most of the troops don’t meet the standards of excellence set forth by true heroes, such as Sergeant Alvin York of World War I fame.”

The noncom reiterated that soldiers should be proud of their service. He concluded, “Sir, I’ve served in the first Gulf War and Operation Iraqi Freedom. Still, I’m no hero! I’m a soldier doing his best for America.”

The infantry NCO touched on something disturbing – a rampant inflation of shallow heroism versus the appropriate recognition for those who perform their sworn duty. With inflated job resumes and Hollywood exaggerations of historic events, the hero disease is rapidly spreading in America.

Why?

It’s all about the Dollar. Fake heroism is selling magazines, books, merchandise, careers, benefits and more war.

As a consequence, true heroism is tough to recognize. Just follow the discussions surrounding Senator John Kerry’s actions in Vietnam. If he wasn’t a true hero, then what’s wrong with the notion that he was doubtlessly fulfilling his patriotic duty to America?

I believe that a true hero rises to the occasion when confronted with a dire situation, facing overwhelming odds. The hero accepts that he could be killed while acting for the good of society, his comrades or even a stranger.