PDA

View Full Version : PI Marine wrestles with Olympic dream

thedrifter
07-13-04, 08:08 AM
PI Marine wrestles with Olympic dream
Submitted by: MCRD Parris Island
Story Identification #: 20047994636
Story by Lance Cpl. Lance Cpl. Justin J. Shemanski

MCRD/ERR PARRIS ISLAND, S.C.(July 9, 2004) -- Each year, hundreds of young men and women from across the country enlist in the Marine Corps for any number of reasons.

Some do it to serve their country, some do for the steady paycheck and some do it simply for the experience. But, there are a select few who sign the dotted line with aspirations of playing a sport in the Marine Corps.

One of these athletes-come-Marine is Cpl. Matt Goodman, WFTBn. food service liaison. Besides his duties with food services, Goodman is also a member of the All-Marine Wrestling Team.

Goodman enlisted while he was still in high school with hopes of making the cut.
"I've been wrestling for about nine years now ... since eighth grade," said Goodman, a native of Cleveland, N.C. "It's really a great sport. I like wrestling because you're all by yourself out on the mats and if you mess up and lose, there's no one else to blame but yourself."

Goodman said wrestling was the reason he joined the Marine Corps.

"I wrestled in high school and the recruiters came in to talk to people one day," he said. "They came up to me and said, 'Hey, did you know you can wrestle for the Marine Corps?' They told me a little bit about what I could do and it sounded good, so I signed up."

Since he made the team nearly two years ago, Goodman has had his fair share of victories. Among other highlights, he took first place at the North Carolina State Championships, went to the 2004 Olympic trials and recently finished in the top ten at the University Nationals held in Chicago.