PDA

View Full Version : When ‘Semper Fi’ Takes on a New Meaning

thedrifter
07-09-04, 08:29 AM
07-08-2004

When ‘Semper Fi’ Takes on a New Meaning

By Matthew Dodd

As a career Marine officer, I have a gnawing feeling in my gut constantly reminding me that there are Marines fighting, dying and doing what Marines do best in Iraq and Afghanistan, while I am relatively safe and sound back in the Pentagon.

Not being there with the Marines who are risking all they have for the freedom of the Iraqi and Afghani people is a humbling experience, especially in those times when I feel justified in complaining about the Pentagon bureaucracy or getting stuck in rush-hour Beltway traffic. Knowing Marines are deployed to active combat zones has a special way of putting life in perspective for me.

Part of that gnawing feeling in my gut is knowing I cannot do anything directly to help or support all the deployed Marines. When you are part of a team, it is important to contribute to your team's success to the best of your abilities. Some relatively recent experiences and unexpected opportunities have proven to me that the Navy-Marine Corps team is stronger than ever. I also have received updated information on a number of great ways for people to indirectly support their winning team efforts.

The bad news, as expected, is that a good number of Marines and sailors are coming back to the United States from the Iraq and Afghanistan theaters less than whole. Many soldiers are also returning in the same condition. The great news is that these warriors are receiving the best military medical care possible.