PDA

View Full Version : Any questions about Boot??

mucho
06-19-04, 11:07 PM
I Graduated on the 18th, and am ready to answer any ?'s about MCRD that any poolee might have

PooleeWebber
06-20-04, 04:20 PM
What main advice can you give to us poolee's who are entering boot camp soon?

thedrifter
06-20-04, 05:32 PM
Congratulations Marine!!!!!!!!

the Drifter's Wife

Ellie

ftrmarinemp
06-22-04, 12:17 AM
ive read some of the more popular books about boot camp, liek BOOT, making the Corps, and keeping faith. how true to life are these books and is there anything major about basic that they dont cover. what did you think was the hardest part.

thanks in advance
ftrmarinemp

WillManning
06-22-04, 05:02 AM
Congratulations mucho, welcome to "The Few"

ftrmarinemp; to answer your questions:

They are very true to life. I read "Boot" 5 years before enlisting and I was fortunate to have Sgt. Carey, from "Making the Corps", as a Senior Drill Instructor. He really was that intense. John Schaffer's experiences at boot and his MOS school are his actual experiences. Once you have graduated boot and become a Marine, you will realize that you too have had similar experiences.

DSchmitke
06-22-04, 05:10 AM
Welcome to the Brotherhood Devil Dog

mucho
06-22-04, 09:18 AM
Originally posted by PooleeWebber
What main advice can you give to us poolee's who are entering boot camp soon?

My best advice is to sound off as loud as you can, move as fast as you can, dont ever let anyone try to take chow back to the house, and dont ever fall asleep in class unless you want the Drill Instructor to "wake you up" and never go to medical b/c they'll drop you back to another company in a heartbeat, and you really dont want to be on depot any longer than you have to be... we picked up one recruit that had been on depot for 7 months!

good luck!

Namvet67
06-22-04, 10:27 AM