PDA

View Full Version : First to Fight Culture:A Former Marine on the Marine Motto

thedrifter
06-11-04, 01:05 PM
First to Fight Culture
A Former Marine on the Marine Motto
By CHRIS WHITE

One Marine Corps motto is First to Fight, and this essay is intended to give a glimpse of the culture of those who claim that right. A Marine buddy of mine and I were engaged in discussion today over the validity of the current war in Iraq. My friend, being a combat Marine by trade like myself (last decade) thought of the war in terms of its readiness value to the Marine Corps, even though he considered the reasons for going to war to be indefensible. He focused on how this experience would help pull the Marines out of their stagnation, and "weed out the pussies," a worthwhile endeavor, even if it was at the expense of immense volumes of human life. However, he was quite critical of, as he put it, "f-ing Cheney and f-ing Rumsfeld," whom he believed had only the intention to establish a regime in Iraq friendly to the U.S. that would allow us to set up bases to enhance our own strategic advantages in the Middle East. He was quite pessimistic that any of this could change, and spoke of our leadership with a bitter tone, as did most Marines that I served with in the 1990s.