PDA

View Full Version : Hospital corpsman nurtures musical dream in Iraq

thedrifter
05-21-04, 06:32 AM
Hospital corpsman nurtures musical dream in Iraq
Submitted by: 1st Marine Division
Story Identification #: 200452022410
Story by Sgt. Jose E. Guillen

CAMP FALLUJAH, Iraq(May 17, 2004) -- Navy Petty Officer 2nd Class Shannon D. Book knows he's destined for greatness after his tour in Iraq is over. If he has his way, you won't read about it in military history or even medical journals. All you'll have to do is tune him in on your radio.

Book, deployed to Iraq with 1st Tank Battalion's Scout Platoon, has taken his musical talents to coffee houses and bars. The Navy hospital corpsman has strummed guitars, picked backbeats on the bass, tickled the ivories on piano and belted out vocals as a singer. It's just that he wants to do it all over again. He dreams of stepping back into the hot spotlight.

"I'm a professional musical artist," said Book, a 30-year-old from East Bernstadt, Ky. "God gave me a talent and there's no use in having a talent and not having it known."

Book and his guitar make regular visits to coffee houses in the San Diego area when he isn't deployed. There, he generates regular customers who come see him play.

Book said that's the only way to get his face and voice out in the public.

"I play at a coffee house in Chula Vista and anywhere from 70-100 people show up just to see me play," Book said. "It's pretty cool. I've played for bars, but I stick to coffee shops."
Book's musical career began during his elementary years when he thought if playing one musical instrument was good, playing multiple instruments must be better.

"I've been playing music since fifth grade, but I've been playing the guitar for 13 years" Book said.

"I bounced around all the instruments because I just thought it was cool to be able to play all of them," added Book, whose primary instrument is a Gresth Historical Acoustic guitar.