PDA

View Full Version : Question about cammies

Pvt Crybaby
02-13-04, 01:02 PM
Is there any regulation prohibiting me from giving a set of cammies to my fiancee as a gift? She's into fashion and all that and she's expressed a real admiration for the design and colors of the desert digitals and I thought it'd be a nice gift to get her a set with just her name on them (e.g. without the U.S. Marines nametape on it).

Is there any order or regulation that says I can't?

namgrunt
02-13-04, 01:46 PM
Considering that you can buy older cammies in Army/Navy surplus stores, I don't see a problem, as long as all logos, such as "U.S.Marines" nametape, are removed. However, I'm not an expert on the UCMJ, and don't want to steer you into an Article 15 hearing. Since you are active duty, the person to ask would be your platoon guide, or the company Gunny.

Another place to find out would be your base library. Use your noodle and research this yourself. Once you find and review the regulations, you can get verification from your superiors. Who knows, she might even get to keep the nametape, as long as she doesn't use the uniform to impersonate a Marine.

The ball is in your court.

Namgrunt

RoboRobinson17
02-13-04, 01:51 PM
Lets use your brain housing group on this one Devil Dog. Marines aren't allowed to wear the utes anywhere but while on duty, or enroute home or to. We are NOT the Army, we do not go to restaurants in them, and only to a store if it is a DIRE EMERGENCY, i.e., my child ran out of baby formula, wife don't breast feed, and we need some asap. Now, if MARINES, those who have EARNED THE RIGHT TO WEAR THE UNIFORM, aren't allowed to do it, why should a CIVILIAN? No US MARINES name tape, but what about our beloved Eagle Globe and Anchor? If she likes them so much, tell her to sign the papers and earn a pair herself. We are not JcPennys.

Semper Fi

TracGunny
02-13-04, 02:51 PM