PDA

View Full Version : Old Corp ?

cashughes
02-12-04, 12:36 PM
I am new to the Leatherneck, and have not been in touch with our Corp for many years. I am hearing the term "Old Corp" and do not understand what it means. Can someone enlighten this old dog ?

J.

TracGunny
02-12-04, 12:44 PM
That depends on who you ask; when I was a younger devil pup, the "old salts" (anyone and everyone who had more TIS- time in service- than me) always talked about how tough they had it when they first joined (Old Corps) as compared to how easy I have it now (New Corps).

The "Old Corps" is a mythical time-line that seems to change at the whim of whoever is evoking it. New weapons, new training, new gear, wars, whatever, seem to be a favorite drawing line in definitions.

I believe it was Lewis Burwell who said, "New breed, old breed, I don't care as long as it is the Marine Breed".

thedrifter
02-12-04, 12:51 PM
Welcome Aboard to the Best Marine Site on the net. Also welcome to your home away from home................
We have a great crew of Marines in here from WW II to the present............
Throw your sea bag in a corner, pull up a footlocker, sit and chat awhile.........

"AGAIN WELCOME ABOARD."

Sempers,

Roger
:marine:

usmc4669
02-12-04, 01:22 PM
cashughes:

There's no Old Corps, it's like TracGunny said, The "Old Corps" is a mythical time-line that seems to change at the whim of whoever is evoking it. New weapons, new training, new gear, wars, whatever, seem to be a favorite drawing line in definitions.

CAS3
02-12-04, 01:40 PM
I AM OLD CORPS....LOL....
If you exit service in 91 you are old right?

No comment from you Sparrowhawk!

cashughes
02-12-04, 02:25 PM
Thanks all !

Apparently I was in the Old, Old, Old Corp (1967-72) !
I still get chills when I hear the M.C. Hymn.

J.

devildog21345
02-12-04, 04:12 PM
cashughes you are a boot 1962-1966

bier95
02-12-04, 04:14 PM