PDA

View Full Version : Saluting question

Drakserb1
04-28-17, 09:33 PM
I am a marine vet, my daughter is getting commissioned as a 2nd Lt in the army tommorrow. She has asked me to give her the honor of her first salute. I told her I would need to be covered in order to do that. Of course she said the army doesn't require that. I remember that we as marines do.
I will not be in uniform though as they don't fit. Is it ok to wear my old **** cutter or cammie cover out of uniform and not under arms to salute her?

SGT7477
04-29-17, 06:49 AM
In my time that would be considered out of uniform, Semper Fidelis.

Deduke
04-29-17, 07:00 AM
What would Chesty do? IMHO, salute your daughter no matter what you have on. If someone gives you crap, cordially invite them to go fvck themselves.

irpat54
04-29-17, 08:28 AM
a few years ago, new orders came down and it was approved for all former Military to be able to salute out of uniform, with any cover or no cover of your choice.

irpat54
04-29-17, 08:31 AM
also, forgive my rudeness, but a great big congratulations to your Daughter, this is no small achievement. we all honer this of her, and you should be very, very proud..

Old Marine
04-29-17, 08:51 AM
Fully agree with posts 3,4, & 5.

Tennessee Top
04-29-17, 09:13 AM
Don't know about the Army. But in the USMC, it's also customary for the first person to give the salute to present a silver dollar to the newly minted officer. Or, does the new officer present the silver dollar to the saluter (can't remember)? I know a silver dollar is involved somehow.

Congratulations to your daughter and much success to her! Rah!!

FoxtrotOscar
04-29-17, 10:37 AM
According to tradition the Newly "Minted" Officer will hand the Silver Dollar to the First Enlisted they salute....!!!

I also concur with Old Marine... #3, 4 & 5...

SF and congratulations to your daughter...

fl1946
04-29-17, 01:09 PM