PDA

View Full Version : IEP/504-plan

KlutzEVA
12-16-16, 12:43 PM
Hello everyone I just joined this forum and I finally went to go see a recruiter and everything was going well I gave him all my paperwork but now I've come to find out that I may be ineligible to join due to having a 504-plan is this true? I've never taken any meds or special-ed classes in high school I only used it to graduate with less credits and it still says I have a normal diploma and not a GED, is it possible at all for somebody like me to become a Marine now? (Do I need college credits, a letter of rec. , and a high ASVAB score the recruiter hasn't said anything like that it's just an assumption)

KlutzEVA
12-16-16, 12:46 PM
My goal was to leave in early August in the 0300 field, It wasn't even a Marine recruiter that told me I was ineligible it was some Army recruiter, the Marine recruiter still needs my highschool-transcript

Hammer
12-16-16, 02:24 PM
Just curious; how did you qualify for a 504 plan? Are you saying you were in one; graduated from it; yet you wasn't qualified to be in it? My question is; what was or is your disability?

I' not real knowledgeable about the 504 plan, and I m not a recruiter, but please answer my question.

crazymjb
12-16-16, 03:58 PM
If I recall it doesn't ask anything anywhere about a 504 plan on any of the enlistment paperwork. I don't see why it would be a DQ unless the underlying disability that the 504 is based on is a DQ. If you have a high school diploma and none of the disabilities that it asks about on the enlistment paperwork I don't see any reason to volunteer information about the 504 plan.

Did you take the ASVAB yet?

Mike

KlutzEVA
12-16-16, 06:00 PM
I pulled some strings with the doctor saying I had a learning disability even though I didn't in order for me to graduate with less credits I graduated with a diploma but I guess it's called a certificate of completion

KlutzEVA
12-16-16, 06:02 PM