PDA

View Full Version : What to expect with BAH and next duty station

oldpappy
05-06-16, 01:18 PM
Good afternoon, Marines.

I graduated from my MOS school and will be receiving orders pretty soon. I'm married now and was wondering if I could get some insight on BAH and duty stations.

1) When I get to my next duty station, the BAH will be dependent on where I am, correct?
2) My wife has a great job currently and won't be leaving to come stay with me. (I'm not gonna let her leave a job she just started either). That said, when I get to my duty station will I be considered a "geo-bachelor"? And will I be told to live on base or will I be offered the chance to live off-base? And, if I live on base, will I still receive BAH since she is living in a different part of the state or country?

Thanks for the help, everyone. I appreciate it.

Hammer
05-06-16, 01:29 PM
I can't answer your question, but there will be other Marines who will be able to, so hang in there.

Tennessee Top
05-06-16, 09:58 PM
You living in one state, and her living in another, is a sure fire way to become a statistic (divorced Marine). Normally, a Marine is separated from their spouse ONLY because there is no other option (deployment, unaccompanied orders, etc).

I know your response will be "won't happen to me - I love her and she loves me". That sums up exactly how I felt when I went to Japan for 12 months and my ex stayed at Camp Pendleton, CA. It happened to me - she found Jody while I was away (occupational hazard).

Rationalize the separation and gamble with your marriage all you want to. You can't say you were never warned now.

MunkyVsRobot
05-07-16, 07:29 AM