PDA

View Full Version : First duty station

Bwinch33
02-16-16, 10:02 PM
I'm ready to ship out to my first duty station this Saturday. It's Camp Hansen Okinawa, Japan. I'm a 1391. I was wondering how it is before I go there. Is there a lot of down time like I've heard? Will I have trouble talking to my family/friends back home? What kind of stuff is there to do? I hear there's a lot of games Bulk Fuel plays. I just want to know how it is here. It's my first duty station so I don't want to go in blind.

Thank you.

madsox
02-16-16, 10:17 PM
Welcome aboard, Marine!

I can't tell you much about Oki or life in Bulk Fuel, since I never went to the Rock and I was a Radio Operator (later Civil Affairs NCO) back in my day, but I can tell you that you'll be getting plenty of info pretty quickly here.

We're a generally helpful bunch around here, even when we're poking a little fun at each other.

And there will definitely be games. The new guy, at his first fleet posting after school? Be ready to have a good sense of humor, and look out for the places your NCOIC and other chain of command tell you not to go - there's usually a reason a place gets put off limits!

Carry on, Marine, and stay active here, it's great to have a mix of active/retired/former/etc Marines to keep the place lively.

Semper Fi!

SGT7477
02-17-16, 07:45 AM
Well get use to being called an Okinawan Cherry Boy,lol, best duty station I ever head, I am sure its changed since I have been there, lose that Cherry and listen, Semper Fidelis.

Rocky C
02-17-16, 08:00 AM
Fun times ahead. Bring plenty of money !

Best of luck to you.

What happens in " OKI ", stays in " OKI "....

Hammer
02-17-16, 08:08 AM
Welcome aboard, Marine!

I can't tell you much about Oki or life in Bulk Fuel, since I never went to the Rock and I was a Radio Operator (later Civil Affairs NCO) back in my day, but I can tell you that you'll be getting plenty of info pretty quickly here.