PDA

View Full Version : Mos?

zwhite84
01-15-04, 09:23 PM
OK guys. I have decided to join the Marines. I thought I might like the Air Force....but look at them.... Someone told me to join the Air Force because I could get fat and do nothing. (Implying that it was pretty easy) But the heck with that. I'm here for a life experience and challenge. But I came upon another stump.
I am really good with computers and already have a quater of schooling in my computer class. My recruiter says a good field to go into would be Aviation Mechanic or somewhere around there.
Whats your guys opinions? Any other suggestions? I am a pretty good mechanic. Use to work as one for about 2 years. But thats just on cars and I don't want to work on 'vehicles'. Jets and other air craft I wouldn't mind. Any other fields that you guys could enlighten me on?
Thanks a bunch!

Caesar Augustus
01-15-04, 10:43 PM
AE forgot what it stands for I think is a year long school in Pensacola FL. or data systems have to do with comps.

TracGunny
01-16-04, 10:15 AM
Shaffer has provided a complete MOS chart on the Jacksonville Semper Fidelis Society website:

http://www.jaxsemperfidelis.org/attachments/MOS.doc

Test your Web research skills to find out more information on any MOS that perks your interest.

(Thanks Jerry)

sleeper
01-31-04, 10:10 AM
Find a job you want when you leave the service, find the MOS that corresponds to it. This is for a 4 year person or a retiree.
Example of a friend:
Young Marine becomes an Air Traffic Controller.
4 years later he's out and working for DOD making $40K / year.
1 year later the FAA hires him and he starts off at $89K / year.

Nothing wrong with being gung ho, but be wise in your future.

Besides, mobile ATC get a chance to see action as well.

kmjb
01-31-04, 10:27 PM