PDA

View Full Version : IRR to SMCR

Jersey0311
06-21-15, 11:32 AM
Hey guys,

Long story short, debating on going back into the Reserves.

I was w/ Lima Co 3/6 from 2008-2012, and my IRR contract is up this August. There's a reserve infantry unit in NJ Golf Co 2/25, I just don't know if I'd be able to join as a Corporal if they don't have any spots for E-4s.

To further complicate things I'm a brand new police officer and don't know what sort of mess I'd find myself in with trying to join the SMCR as a rookie whose still on probation.

Alternatively, does anyone know if I could go to one of the MP Co's that are with 4th LE Bn without having to go to MP School since I'm already a cop?

Is it realistic to maybe try out a drill weekend as a non-obligated guy to see if it's really worth it sometime before my contract is up? I heard it's a royal pain to get back in after I'm out of contract.

Also I have sleeve tattoos that were never documented on active duty. Would I still need a waiver to go SMCR?

I've been trying to get in touch with a PSR, but should I call the unit directly as well?

Thanks for the help!

cpl1142
06-21-15, 05:21 PM