PDA

View Full Version : Marry?

tommym1a1pro
08-04-13, 08:50 PM
I am currently a PFC about to graduate MOS school and get orders to my first duty station. If I got married on leave, what are the chances that my wife would be able to move to my permanent duty station with me?

Thanks for any advice or assistance Brothers, ( and Sisters ).

PFC Chase

Tennessee Top
08-05-13, 12:25 AM
As far as I know (I retired in 95), since you are not overseas, you can get married whenever you want. Your marriage certificate is the legal document stipulating your wife is your legal dependent. What I recommend is you go to the nearest military installation to your hometown (base, reserve center, etc.); doesn't matter what service. After your honeymoon, take your wife (they will take a photo of her), your military ID card, marriage certificate, her birth certificate, get her a dependent ID card and enrolled in the DEERS system (she cannot get healthcare or insurance benefits till she is enrolled in DEERS). You want her covered immediately so that if anything happens between the time you get married and you report to your permanent duty station she will have benefits. You may want to call before going just to make sure you're going to the right place and you take all the documents you need with you.