PDA

View Full Version : 1171 Utilities

NorthernCA831
07-19-13, 05:06 AM
Good day Ladies, Gentlemen.
I am a brand new Marine. I graduated bootcamp last week and ive been trying to research my MOS a little but to no avail. Does anyone have any good insight into this MOS?

1171 Water Support Tech?

any ideas on what im going to be doing or who ill be working with?

and will i be deployable?

thank you all so much.

Yup
07-19-13, 09:51 AM
First, congrats on making it. Now comes the fun part.

You will be a "water dog". No one is sure what you guys actually do other than eat and hang out, but you play the cards your dealt. Pretty sure the showers etc fall under your MOS and you guys are supposed to provide purified water in the field. When on deployment nowadays pretty much all of the water is bottled so quite honestly I'm not sure how much work you will be doing. I can tell you, yes 1171s do deploy.

NorthernCA831
07-19-13, 11:18 AM
Thank you Gunnery Sergeant. Eat and hangout...ohboy. Is it fair to think that I'll be able to pursue my education while I am enlisted? I've been told some MOSs have no time to mess with schoolwork and others do... Part of the reasons why I joined this beloved Marine Corps was for the education benefits. As I'd like to possibly go into OCS after I get my 4 year degree

Yup
07-19-13, 11:23 AM