PDA

View Full Version : Prior Service Army Going Marines, can it be true?

proudwife2006
02-09-13, 04:09 PM
Hello,
I am a very proud wife of an army national guard soldier (prev AD), I joined this forum to get answers to questions I am having about my husband joining the Marine Corps. I would like to say that I am supportive of my husband but I am not one that only has eyes for the benefits of the military (I work full time as an underwriter and love my job, pay and benefits).

Background info: husband was a 12b combat engineer AD army for 4 years, he graduated basic an e3, made e5 sgt 2 years 1 month in. He served 2 tours, 13 months in iraq and 11 in afghanistan, he also graduated from sapper school. We got out of the Army with heavy hearts, he was looking at his 3rd deployment, and his ETS date was drawing near and at the time we found out we were pregnant. It was an extremely difficult decision especially for my hubby, he loved to serve. So now a year after being back at a civilian job he is ready to join again and I fully support him. Our family thinks we are crazy but not all of them understand the pride of being a military spouse or serving on active duty. We have great lives now, a beautiful home, a son, good jobs and we are in our home town close to family so in theory we should be completely content... but we are both missing the military lifestyle and comradery, and my husband deeply regrets getting out (even though he will say he doesnt because he was home to see our son born when otherwise he would have been in afghanistan).