PDA

View Full Version : Recruit in MPR, how long will he stay?

Christl
11-18-03, 08:39 PM
My question is: How long will the Marines have somebody stay in MRP? Will the DI in the new Platoon not push guys fresh from MRP as hard as he would normally? My son has severe shin splints. It's been 2 weeks that he is in MRP. Some guys have been there for over 8 month. One should start gradually training again when recovering from shin splints. How is that possible when your DI does not let you, also he should stretch before training, will the DI let him?
Does anyone know? Thanks for your help.
Proud MOM of a future fine Marine!

P.S: I am new at all this!

firstsgtmike
11-19-03, 01:40 AM
Christil; <br />
<br />
Until you receive a more knowledgeable answer. This is mine. <br />
<br />
MRP is a separate entity from Recruit Training. Although while there, &quot;book learning&quot; is provided. <br />
<br />
Length of time in...

Christl
11-19-03, 09:14 AM
firstsgtmike:
Thanks for your reply.
Appreciate your answer. I hope he gets out soon and starts training again.
Christl

marinemom
11-19-03, 10:14 AM
Christi,

My son is an instructor at the MRP unit at SOI-West, Camp Pendleton. And, as firstsgtmike said, they work with the Marines for as long as it takes -same as in boot. He has had guys in the unit for 2-3 weeks and some who are in their second month.

He has told me that the Marines in MRP are extremely motivated and eager to get back to a regular training unit - and that sometimes it is hard to keep them from doing more than they are able.

For those in boot camp, the PCP (Physical Conditioning Platoon) and the Medical Recovery Platoon are pretty much the same, the Instructors work with the recruits to help them overcome injury or lack of ability. And they motivate the recruits to an extent that is hard to believe. Your son will be fine - and this expreience will make the walk across the Parade Deck all the sweeter.

G.L.B.
11-19-03, 11:06 AM
Christl-