PDA

View Full Version : Am I on the right path? (switching units/wanting to go active duty)

ritdawg
12-13-11, 05:50 AM
I've been in the Marines now for the last 5+ years, have been one deployment to Iraq in 2008. My contract is up sometime in the middle of May of 2012. My current MOS is 0311, with a current rank of Corporal. What I want to do is Lat move into the MOS of Air Traffic Controller (7257). My question is should I try and start the paperwork now to get a release from my unit, which by the way is an Air Support Wing in Colorado, so currently I am a mismatched MOS for this unit, and the unit is potentially shutting down, or should I wait till my contract is up, and try and reup then? I graduated college in Iowa, where I was recruited out of, with a degree in computer graphics/interactive media as well as flight operations. I then moved out home to Colorado, hence the transfer to an air support wing, and continued to go to college where I just graduated last week with an Associates in Air Traffic Control (scored a 96 on my final). I also took the AT-SAT (the sat/act of air traffic control test), where I scored a perfect 100 on the test.
I wasn't sure if any of college credits/test scores would assist me in actually getting that MOS if I was to Lat move. I do know that there is a bonus for lat moving into air traffic control, so it seems like that the Marines are needing controllers. If anyone has any ideas/suggestions, would be greatly apperciated!

Thanks
Semper Fi

blackshirts
12-14-11, 12:15 AM
I'm also interested in a lat-move to ATC for FY 13.

BGW
12-14-11, 06:05 AM