PDA

View Full Version : Does Reserve TIS count towards pay? (O-1E)

benw2200
12-11-11, 09:35 PM
I'm currently a drilling reservist who has been with my unit for about three years now, including one deployment which put us on active duty for about 400 days. I'm currently a college student and I'm enrolled in the PLC program for commissioning, assuming I pass OCS (I have my first 6-week segment coming up this summer). By the time I get my commission, I will have over four years as a reservist. I was looking at pay charts the other day, and it said you need 4 years of prior service to get the O-1E pay grade instead of regular O-1. I've done some internet research and I'm finding conflicting information, but the consensus seems to be that reserve time in service doesn't count towards retirement, but it does count for pay purposes. So can anyone confirm or deny that upon commissioning, I will rate O-1E pay from my time in the reserves? Thanks.

Theoldgunny
12-12-11, 07:28 AM
unless things have changed in the 30+ yrs since i retired if u are paid res time it counts

AAV Crewchief
12-12-11, 08:05 AM
I'm currently a drilling reservist who has been with my unit for about three years now, including one deployment which put us on active duty for about 400 days. I'm currently a college student and I'm enrolled in the PLC program for commissioning, assuming I pass OCS (I have my first 6-week segment coming up this summer). By the time I get my commission, I will have over four years as a reservist. I was looking at pay charts the other day, and it said you need 4 years of prior service to get the O-1E pay grade instead of regular O-1. I've done some internet research and I'm finding conflicting information, but the consensus seems to be that reserve time in service doesn't count towards retirement, but it does count for pay purposes. So can anyone confirm or deny that upon commissioning, I will rate O-1E pay from my time in the reserves? Thanks.