PDA

View Full Version : Looking for that collective wisdom

smnews
10-08-11, 12:58 AM
Ladies and Gentlemen:

Before I begin, I'd like to say that this is my first time posting on this forum. While I've read many threads before on many subjects, I've never contributed to the conversations. The purpose of this threat is to ask for your collective wisdom in a matter that is very important to me: my service to my country.

To give you some background, I am a 25 year-old, active duty Sergeant (recently selected to Staff Sergeant) in the 0511 MOS, MAGTF Planner. For the past several years, I've found it very hard to decide what the next step will be. During this time, I had it in my mind that I wanted to be an officer of Marines. After all, being in this position would grant me two things: first, the privilege of leading Marines, and second, the ability to be part of a cadre of individuals whose decisions have an operational and strategic-level impact. Unfortunately, I've come to lose that vision as I've become increasingly aware that I MAY not be able to have the impact I want to have as a Marine Officer, or perhaps even as a Marine. This has led me to a point where I feel that I should leave the Marine Corps if I am to serve my country in the manner that I seek.

Now, some will say (and very rightfully so) that the Marine Corps offers nothing else but the title "Marine" to those who earn it. Anything else, from MOS to duty station, is "icing on the cake." Should I be content that I have the title and go on my way? To put it bluntly, the answer to this is "no." The reality for me is that having the title Marine is not enough. While grateful to have gotten as far as I have in my career, I don't believe I am serving my country to the full extent of my ability and desires (two very different factors, I know.) I feel that the next step I take must bring me closer to the service I seek.