PDA

View Full Version : Need some advice from experianced Marines

Scarhead222
09-26-11, 08:55 PM
I'm fairly new to the Corps, little under a year. I've recently been diagnosed with clinical depression and anxiety disorder. My questions are; <br />
<br />
1: Will this separate me from the Corps? If so,...

Scarhead222
09-26-11, 09:07 PM
I should also add that this isn't me trying to get a ticket out of the Marine Corps. I want to stay in! I'm not a bag of ass either, I have good pros and cons, high PFT and CFT scores, and have graduated top of my classes. But I'm just wondering how this will affect my career if at all?

Zulu 36
09-26-11, 09:09 PM
1. Possibly it will. My guess is it would be a medical discharge under honorable conditions. Unless you've been acting up and getting yourself in trouble to warrant a General Discharge. They taught...

Scarhead222
09-26-11, 09:13 PM
I haven't been a troublemaker Sgt, and I don't want to get out, but I also don't want this affecting how I do my job or how it could affect my unit. I'd actually rather not share my situation online...

Scarhead222
09-26-11, 09:26 PM
Yes, I was prescribed medication by my civilian Dr. for it. So would this conflict with the military or can I stay in? I remember when I enlisted they talked about if you had ever been seen for...

Zulu 36
09-26-11, 09:28 PM
Then there isn't much we can do for you here. Nearly every Vietnam vet on this site has PTSD and the rest. Same with most of the Iraqi and Afghan vets. Most of us carry on to one degree or another. Some better than others. Some on meds, some not.

Seek therapy at your base. Sometimes you have to plain force yourself to get through the day, but that's what you have to do.

Are you on prescribed meds? If you just started them, it takes a few weeks for them to start kicking in. Don't self medicate (booze or drugs) - doesn't help and just makes things worse in the long run.

Phantom Blooper
09-26-11, 09:33 PM