PDA

View Full Version : Vibrams on pavement...

Crusader0451
08-24-11, 08:32 PM
Anybody else run on pavement with veebs? I've been running with vibrams for about a year now and I am passed the infamous calf pains. Alas, at the poolee functions we run on the road almost all the time and it takes a toll on my shins. I am looking into buying a pair of running shoes and am leaning towards New Balance Minimus either Road or Trail. Any input?

IHaveEGA843
08-24-11, 09:08 PM
No but how much did those vibrams improve your run time when you changed your running for? I'm considering buying a pair.

I have a pair of Acsics 2150s and they work great, no pain after running just feel like my feet are on fire from the contact on the pavement.

Crusader0451
08-24-11, 09:22 PM
I couldn't tell you about my run times, I started training seriously and got a pair almost immediately. A friend of mine who was in cross country got a pair and PR'd his mile time on the first run with them.

Blop
08-26-11, 07:01 PM
Perhaps it has to do with which model of vibes you are running in?

I'm past the calf pains myself as well, but I generally try not to run in mine anymore because they sprints simply have too thin of a sole.

Maybe a model with a thicker sole would work out better if you're running in classics or sprints, or even KSOs. Bikila/treks maybe?

Crusader0451
08-26-11, 07:10 PM
Yea man, I had the Treks before, I'm running in Bikilas now. I just noticed on the last IST that i would pass people when i ran in the grass and on pavement I would get passed. I think a pair of Vibram friendly running shoes could increase my time by a minute or so. So that I can run the whole thing with my "grass time" pace, ya know?

Blop
08-26-11, 07:37 PM