PDA

View Full Version : Getting stationed in Oki, getting married right before. Question

btrain719
08-21-11, 05:27 PM
Hello,

I just found out on Friday I am getting stationed in Okinawa at Camp Hansen after my MOS school. I am very excited and so is my fiancee, but I realized that I have no idea how to make this an accompanied tour. I am a student at TBS right now.

I will be getting my orders hopefully before October 31st, and I plan on getting married maybe in January... I can't set a date yet because I don't know when my MOS school graduates. But we want to get married between MOS school and checking in to Japan so I can take leave and whatnot.

Anyways, my big problem here is this: Since I am not married at the moment, they are going to cut me unaccompanied orders to Okinawa but I will be getting married right before I ship out. How can I ensure that I will be able to take my wife with me?

Sorry if I am posting this in the wrong section, first post here... I really appreciate the help! I really want this to work out!

Semper Fi!

MOS4429
08-21-11, 06:17 PM
You joined the Marine Corps in 2005, still on active duty, and you're a private?

bpatk
08-21-11, 06:31 PM
I didn't think Okinawa was a accompanied post until you were a E-5 or O-3 or above??? Yeah I'm going toquestion his rank/time-in-grade also!!!

btrain719
08-21-11, 06:35 PM
Sorry, I just joined forum today and haven't edited my profile or anything. I am a 2nd Lt, was enlisted for over 5 years.

btrain719
08-21-11, 06:38 PM
And you can be accompanied as an 01.

jairen
08-21-11, 06:43 PM
Hello,

I just found out on Friday I am getting stationed in Okinawa at Camp Hansen after my MOS school. I am very excited and so is my fiancee, but I realized that I have no idea how to make this an accompanied tour. I am a student at TBS right now.