PDA

View Full Version : BAH and housing

MunkyVsRobot
07-24-11, 02:50 PM
I know I should be worrying more about boot camp than this but Im not really sweating boot camp. Sure it is going to suck but whereas it is only a 13 week stint of my 5 year contract im also giving this some thought.

My questions are as follows if any Marines can help it would be greatly appreciated.

After MOS school (I am waiting on my DD contract) how much if any time are you given to move to your duty station? I live in NH and hoping to get stationed in California or Hawaii.

Next question is how do I go about finding off base housing? Do some of them have Apartments on base? Ive only been to 1 base that had housing (Hanscom AFB) but I didnt get to tour it much I was there for an IST so I only saw a little bit of it.

Do they assign you the housing or is it your job it do so?

devilbones2
07-24-11, 04:26 PM
If you are not married you are living in the Barracks. When I graduated MOS school at Ft. Belvoir, VA I was married and I was given 5 days to drive from MA to CA. You will need to find your own place or apply for base housing.

MunkyVsRobot
07-25-11, 06:09 AM
Can you apply for base housing before you leave MOS school? Im just wondering how id go about doing that before I get to the base I'd be shipping to i wouldnt want it to wait till last minute.

I was almost thinking about having my wife go to where ever my duty station was and checking out housing there, but if i could get a place that is on base id be happy with that too. Problem with sending her to the duty station is of course I wont know that till close to the end of MOS training.

Mxzero
07-25-11, 07:44 AM