PDA

View Full Version : Possible Marine Career

kodyb87
07-07-11, 12:59 PM
I'll start with a little background info. I'm 24 years old, married, and I have twin 3 month old daughters. I have my Associates Degree and scored a 95 on my ASVAB. I work for a commercial construction company and make enough to keep the lights on and the cabinets full. My plan was to complete my Bachelor's and then pursue a career as an Officer, preferably a pilot. After my little girls were born, my wife an I decided that getting my career started earlier would probably be in the best interest of our family since I am the only source of income.

We discussed deployments, and training time and we both understand what the sacrifices from each of us will be. After deciding to go forward with the process, we both went to see the recruiter and at first he told us that I could not join because of my dependancy status. After doing some research he called me back and told me that I could go Reserves, and then after 9 months I could switch over to Active Duty. Is this true, and does it actually happen or am I going to be stuck in the Reserves? I was a little dissapointed at first, but then after thinking it over for a while, I realized that the Reserves would allow my wife and I some time to adjust to the military lifestyle.

I went to talk to my boss and I told him that I had decided to join the Reserves. He told me that he supported my decision but that he would not be able to keep my job open for me. So now I'm stuck with a decision. Give up my job and join the Reserves in hopes that I can swith over to Active Duty in 9 months, or stay where I am and be bored for the rest of my life?

The recruiter told me that I would not be able to pick my MOS because I will be going Reserves but based on my scores I will be in some sort of logistics in Albany, GA. I was hoping for an intel position but I am willing to accept anything they give me.