PDA

View Full Version : CROSSFIT-Preparing for Recruit Training

ClemsonEngineer
06-24-11, 07:47 PM
I've read a lot of threads on this forum about physical training in preparation for PI or SD, and it is mostly threads with people asking questions. I've FINALLY got a ship date, and I can now post on the forums. So, I wanted to start a thread about physical (and mental) preparation and my experience with CrossFit. I hope someone finds it useful.

I will try to add more to this tonight, but just to get it started here are two links I think every Poolee should check out.

http://www.crossfit.com
http://www.crossfitendurance.com

Just to give you a quick idea on where I am coming from, at least from a CrossFit perspective- I've been a Level 1 Trainer for a few months now, and I have CrossFitted for a year now. When I first started, I couldn't do the women's weights and I was HORRIBLE at everything. CrossFit has made me into a way better athlete and is continuing to do wonders for me physically and mentally. Here is the link to my home gym: http://www.crossfitspartanburg.com

Poolee Godfrey

ClemsonEngineer
06-24-11, 08:32 PM
Ok, so... here is CrossFit in a nutshell.

"Constantly varied functional movement at high intensity"

What does this mean?

Constantly Varied:
Don't do the same stuff every day. Don't do the same stuff every week. Don't do the same stuff every month. You may repeat a workout once or twice a year actually. This doesn't mean go out and only do pullups once a year, or once a week. But, it does mean don't do a routine. Your routine should be to mix it up. Vary your reps. Vary your weight. Vary your movements. Vary the time duration of your workouts. Vary the order of movemets. And, vary it constantly!

Functional Movement: