PDA

View Full Version : Thoughts on attending the Naval Academy

Tachypsychia
05-17-11, 07:46 PM
Hello Marines!

I've floated around on the forums for a while now and decided to officially join so I could get some advice.

Back in 2006 I decided I wanted to be a Marine Aviator and looked into all the programs that one could use to commission then get wings. I applied for the USNA the same year I swore in for Marines Reserve on a 6x2 contract. I got my congressional nomination and thought for sure I'd get a Letter of Assurance (LOA) from the academy, but something held up my application and I never got to complete the DODMERB.

That summer after graduation I went to MCRD Parris Island and earned the title. 4 years later, I'm in my second year attending college and have a deployment to Iraq under my belt with more time active duty than time drilling. I realize that this is something I want to do for the rest of my life, and I want to go career.

I have just one more year that I'm eligible to apply to the Naval Academy and want to try again. I feel that I present decent competitiveness for an appointment. I was hoping to get some hands on advice from Naval Academy graduate mustangs, but I understand that there might not be a ton floating around here, so any advice is appreciated.

I'm curious about my chances of getting appointed from looking at the Class of 2014's profile.

There were about 17k that applied and about 6200 with official nominations. And out of those 6200 that were truely considered 1250 were appointed. Out of the 1250, only 7 were Marines that were prior enlisted.