PDA

View Full Version : Springs in Clips

Cpl Heglar
05-12-11, 02:12 PM
Does keeping my clips half loaded hurt the springs over time?

03Mike
05-12-11, 02:34 PM
Always cycle your loaded / unloaded magazines - they shouldn't spend all their time loaded with springs compressed. Generates too many mis-feeds.

Cpl Heglar
05-12-11, 02:38 PM
Thanks Mike

Zulu 36
05-12-11, 04:32 PM
It depends on the magazine and the manufacturer.

I intentionally kept a Sig-Sauer P-228 magazine (9mm, 13-shot) fully loaded for ten-years. I also kept an HK-91 magazine (7.62mm, 20-rounds) fully loaded for the same time frame. They have not malfunctioned since I started shooting them again. But then, you get quality when you pay for Sig-Sauer and Heckler and Koch.

For most modern magazines, keeping it half-loaded shouldn't put an undue strain on the follower spring. Metallurgy has come a long way.

That said, I still wouldn't keep a military issue M-16 or M-9 magazine even partially loaded for that long. Just don't trust the lowest bidder.

LandsNGrooves
05-14-11, 10:38 AM
A lot of gunfighters with a lot more time behind a gun then me say loaded or not, its the cycling that wears springs. Believe whatever . . .