PDA

View Full Version : expert witness needed - OC instructor

fivefoottwo
05-06-11, 09:12 AM
I was a base Marine and worked in supply at LeJeune, an honor grad out of boot and school, but my life was never threatened to uphold the Constitution. My high-school sweetheart's on the other hand,...

Mistybluelady
05-06-11, 09:35 AM
well not being a Marine.... the only advice I can offer is fill out your profile and good luck

Old Marine
05-06-11, 10:27 AM
Fill out you profile or forget it.

USNAviator
05-06-11, 10:42 AM
Your attorney should be handling this for you. There are plenty of Expert Witness sites on Google. I found at least a dozen pepper spray experts. I have my doubts you'll find any on LN

And yes please fill in your profile, there are rules here as well

Good luck to you

fivefoottwo
05-06-11, 11:49 AM
ok, will try and figure that out

thanks

Zulu 36
05-06-11, 01:35 PM
I used to be a certified use-of-force expert, but not since I retired from police work (1998).

It seems to be a bit late to try and bring an OC expert on board. The judge may not allow it. If he does, expect the other side to bring one on board too. Also, expect delays in trial/mediation as a result.

Your expert needs to not only be able to discuss the chemical composition of OC, but be able to compare it to other chemical sprays and other force methods. He/she needs to be able to describe appropriate use of OC on the force continuum, appropriate application (where to spray, etc), and the usual expected effects of OC. Also, possible bad effects of OC.

The expert must be able to testify to what may not happen when OC is used (i.e., it doesn't work as effectively on everyone for different reasons). Also, what an officer should do after using OC (i.e., immediately restrain and handcuff the offender - which is actually doing the offender a favor as it keeps them from rubbing their eyes making things worse pain-wise).