PDA

View Full Version : Failing a drug test for alcohol

EGTSpec
04-15-11, 09:56 AM
Yesterday my employer recalled me after seasonal layoff. Prior to starting on next Monday the 18th I was required to take a pre-recall drug test. I had a few beers (5) the night before and know enough time passed (2200 to 1000) before my test that it shouldn't be a problem. But it got me thinking about my time in the Corps.

I remember coming in off liberty drunker than a skunk, flopping on my rack, and the lights coming on a few minutes later, and falling out for PT. Half the platoon would be hung over or still drunk. I know if I had taken a drug test at that time I woulda been over the limit.

In the civilian world there are jobs, Trucking is one, which is what I do, where you can't consume alcohol within 8 hours of driving a commercial vehicle. As a Marine I was a Ammunition Tech. and handle live ammunition on a daily basis.

THE QUESTION: Can the Corps prosecute a Marine for still being drunk, or showing over the legal limit, the next day after getting sh*t faced on his own time? Never saw it happen when I was in but yesterday got me thinking.

EGTSpec
04-15-11, 10:08 AM
If it carries into the duty time, sure. Same as civilian life. It's the condition he or she is in at work, not when they started and stopped drinking.
Example: Suppose someone gets drunk the night before work, and at work they blow a 1.5 on a breath test. Does anyone care how much more drunk they were last night than right now? They are under the influence now, at work. No one cares if they were five times as drunk the night before, on their own time.LOL I guess me and probably 90% of my company, including officers, were guilty the morning after payday most of the time. I know my company had a drunk tank in the guard shack when I was on Oki. LOL

EGTSpec
04-15-11, 10:15 AM