PDA

View Full Version : My son leaves for Parris Island soon...

Ridgerunner665
04-12-11, 10:01 PM
They gave him an MOS in field artillery (I didn't think he'd get his MOS until after he graduated PI...but what do I know?)

I'm proud of him...he has done what I let my parents talk me out of (becoming a Marine), I've regretted not joining ever since :mad:...now I'm just a truck driver. ( a damn good one though ;))

He has wanted to be a Marine since he was about 8, and I have supported that decision all the way (not forced, supported)

June 13th is the day he heads out...he didn't really want field arty, but thats what he got. He had very high scores on everything but I guess they stick you where they need you.

Anyway, thats my introduction I guess...I'll give progress reports here as I get them...so it may be a while before I add anything since its a while before he leaves, and then its 13 weeks of silence until he graduates.

Oh yeah....he's going tomorrow to do something, I forget what he called it...physical fitness type thing.

EDIT: Its an IST test...

USNAviator
04-12-11, 10:11 PM
They gave him an MOS in field artillery (I didn't think he'd get his MOS until after he graduated PI...but what do I know?)

I'm proud of him...he has done what I let my parents talk me out of (becoming a Marine), I've regretted not joining ever since :mad:...now I'm just a truck driver. ( a damn good one though ;))

He has wanted to be a Marine since he was about 8, and I have supported that decision all the way (not forced, supported)

June 13th is the day he heads out...he didn't really want field arty, but thats what he got. He had very high scores on everything but I guess they stick you where they need you.

Anyway, thats my introduction I guess...I'll give progress reports here as I get them...so it may be a while before I add anything since its a while before he leaves, and then its 13 weeks of silence until he graduates.