PDA

View Full Version : Things you don't like about your life as a Marine

Littlegraybook
03-16-11, 12:06 PM
Hi all,

I am a college graduate considering to enlist as a Marine. As soon as I get my citizenship through naturalization, I want to apply to OCS and become a Marine officer. I am joining because I think being a Marine officer is one of the most honorable calling one can have as an American. I am a legal permanent resident of this great country and I want to earn my citizenship through honorable means and at the same time be proud of who I might become. I chose the Marines because it's the best and the toughest - this only makes it more attractive to me because I always believe that honor with any value is earned through hard work.

My question to you all is: what are things that you don't/didn't like about being a Marine? I can see that a lot of you are very proud to be Marines (and most certainly should be), but I am sure that it's not a perfect life and there's always things that might trouble you from time to time. Please share some so that I might be mentally prepared if I do enlist. Things I've been thinking about are:

Racism (I am Asian), politics (dealings with promotion, job distribution, etc), injustice done by the government to its own Marines, etc.

Please remember that I am ready for the toughest and these things will ultimately not affect my decision. I am asking for mental preparedness.

Thank you all very much and God bless America.

Lisa 23
03-16-11, 12:18 PM
Try filling out your profile, so the Marines who are going to answer your questions, know who they are talking to.
You may also want to read the site rules in the poolee and Ask A Marine forums.......

[Poolee Rules] Attention New Poolee & Wannabe Members

Rule Ten there will no political threads or posts of any kind in the recruit forums, you are here to concentrate on the yellow foot steps not politics!