PDA

View Full Version : Marine Officer to Federal Government

Citadel0602
03-15-11, 05:34 AM
First of all, Semper Fidelis Marines! I would like to take this opportunity to tell everyone a little about myself, I graduated from The Military College of South Carolina: The Citadel in May of 2008 with honors and am currently serving as a First Lieutenant stationed with Marine Wing Communications Squadron-18 over here in Camp Foster, Okinawa. I was promoted to 02 back in August. Recently I have seen a lot of my fellow Lieutenants get skipped over on the career designation board and its, unfortunately, forcing me to look at my options if I am not selected for Career Designation. I am a Communications Officer and have participated in multiple MEF and Coalition level exercises (PHIBLEX, ULCHI FREEDOM GUARDIAN, RYUKYU WARRIOR, KEY RESOLVE, COBRA GOLD. Since I am married and have a young two year old son I have to look at the horizon and take into consideration what options are available for someone with my qualifications. I am currently looking at CIA, FBI, or NSA. However, I really don't know where to begin to make myself more competitive to the other applicants. I would appreciate any feedback on this topic

AAV Crewchief
03-15-11, 07:43 AM
Sir,

If you are looking to work with the three letter agencies, Intel would be somewhere you might want to be. I had a friend of mine with a kid who joined the Corps after college graduation and he got an Intel job moving right up the ladder with the fast burners and had tons of offers for the aforementioned groups once he separated.

USNAviator
03-15-11, 08:00 AM
Lt. there was another person on here yesterday who was interested in the FBI. I looked their web site and in red letters they announced there was a hiring freeze due to the Federal Budget cutbacks. I didn't check out the NSA nor the CIA