PDA

View Full Version : Operation Desert Storm Marines

TJinMT
03-01-11, 05:04 PM
Hey there -

I'm a writer in Montana and I'm writing a book. One of the characters is a Marine who was in Desert Storm. I had a few questions, and wondered if anyone from that era could help me out?

1- Would a couple of friends from the same town be able to go through bootcamp together in the "buddy program" - did it exist then? Same MOS, Rifleman.

2 - Would they have been likely to have been assigned to the same platoon afterward?

3 - One of the guys is KIA. The other has some PTSD issues. How "helpful" was the Govt about this issue at that time?

4 - Forgive my ignorance about this, but I understand that 24 Marines were killed during this war. I don't know any details about these Marines. Any idea where I can find some more information?

Thanks guys - I sure appreciate any info.

USNAviator
03-01-11, 05:38 PM
Hey there -

I'm a writer in Montana and I'm writing a book. One of the characters is a Marine who was in Desert Storm. I had a few questions, and wondered if anyone from that era could help me out?

1- Would a couple of friends from the same town be able to go through bootcamp together in the "buddy program" - did it exist then? Same MOS, Rifleman.

2 - Would they have been likely to have been assigned to the same platoon afterward?

3 - One of the guys is KIA. The other has some PTSD issues. How "helpful" was the Govt about this issue at that time?

4 - Forgive my ignorance about this, but I understand that 24 Marines were killed during this war. I don't know any details about these Marines. Any idea where I can find some more information?

Thanks guys - I sure appreciate any info.

Can't help you with your literary aspirations but there were 68 Marine casualties during Desert Storm. 24 by hostile fire and 44 by being MIA or killed by non-hostile sources. If you were in theater and KIA whether by hostile or non-hostile methods, you're just as dead