PDA

View Full Version : United States Naval Academy

hooeboy
02-28-11, 03:56 PM
Hey guys, I've got a few questions about the Naval Academy.

1) I have a 4.0 GPA and am in IB classes. I am in the upper 15% of my class. I am the Varsity Cross Country Captain and run track. I am also a leadership instructor and an Eagle Scout. What are my chances?

2) What are some resume items of those that have been accepted?

3) If anyone here has graduated from the academy, give me some advice please.

03Mike
02-28-11, 07:48 PM
I am not an academy grad, but I have known several.

Your profile is along the lines of what they are looking for... though you don't mention your SAT scores. Generally, they are looking for people who are tops in their class who are also highly involved in their communities. Eagle Scout helps, as does leading your cross country team - they are a good start. What else can you add? Volunteer work? Community service? Participation in church? Summer jobs?

All that counts - also, start early. What year are you in school?

USNAviator
02-28-11, 07:58 PM
Hey guys, I've got a few questions about the Naval Academy.

1) I have a 4.0 GPA and am in IB classes. I am in the upper 15% of my class. I am the Varsity Cross Country Captain and run track. I am also a leadership instructor and an Eagle Scout. What are my chances?

2) What are some resume items of those that have been accepted?

3) If anyone here has graduated from the academy, give me some advice please.

Mike, a fellow Virginian looking to serve. I was on the wait list but I'm talking about the 70's. There is an Academy grad on here, retired Capt. I'll send him a PM and see if he can help you. Have you checked out the USNA website?. Also there are what as referred to as Blue and Gold officers who handle recruiting. I'll assume your a Junior. If your a Senior, the ship has sailed

Tennessee Top
02-28-11, 08:08 PM
Maybe you need to find a Navy forum?

hooeboy
02-28-11, 09:35 PM