PDA

View Full Version : What Should I Do?

Hall26
02-20-11, 02:52 PM
I graduated from Lock Haven University in 2008 with a bachelors degree in Criminal Justice. From there I took a job as a security/loss prevention officer at a hotel. In 2009 I was accepted to the Mercer County Police Academy as an alternate route candidate for their Basic Course for Police Officer. The alternate route program allows you to attend the academy without being hired by a police department in advance. You pay a tuition fee and receive the training. In July of 2009 I graduated from the police academy. From there an alternate route candidate has 3 years to find a job. Shortly after I graduated the state of NJ quickly fell into the financial toilet. Due to the overwhelming number of alternate route candidates, laid off officers, and declining budgets the competition is steep.

I do not like how the situation is looking in this state and I need to seek out other opportunities. I am very interested in becoming a Marine Officer as well as going the Enlisted route. As of right now I am a baggage handler at the same hotel I started at when I graduated from college. When I left the hotel to attend the academy they were nice enough to keep me employed. However, they had to fill the void that I left. When I returned there was no room for me in security. I took the baggage handler job as it was the only available position at the time. I was thinking of just enlisting and seeing where that takes me. One of my co-workers who is a Marine (she is no longer active duty) urged me to become an officer instead.