PDA

View Full Version : The only time I was ever at Parris Island was for boot camp...

AlohaMarine
02-14-11, 12:51 AM
I got bored and looked at it on Google earth.

Talk about a shock. Parris Island seemed to be the size of the state of Texas when you were there. The rifle range, housing, the PX area, and the "historic" area of Parris Island is TINY. Why did it take us 4 or 5 hours to march to the rifle range when its not even 4 blocks from our squad bays?

The spooky flightline area has some size to it, but its still no where near as big as they made it out to be. I thought we were running for so long into the woods that we were definitely going to get lost, probably end up in Georgia or something. The fact that it was surrounded by water was oblivious to me.

Has anyone else gone to Parris Island after boot and had similar feelings?
After I graduated I got in the car and left. I did not want to see any more of that place and I dont suppose Ill ever be back.

MGySgtSki
02-14-11, 02:45 AM
I went back a couple of years after I graduated and it seemed a ton smaller. It was really strange walking around there and not being a recruit. Spent about 3 or 4 hours there, max, and got back in the car and drove back to Lejeune. This was quite a few years ago, so I'm sure it has changed a ton since I left that Saturday afternoon.

crazymjb
02-14-11, 09:06 AM
Remember the huts you stay at during the crucible? Remember the first long section of the hike before you have your 10 minute break leading up to the last leg... Well if you make a head call during that 10 minute break, you are using the port-a-potty's right next to the huts. Lots of walking in circles, and yes it does seem huge when you're there.

I'll probably go back eventually, I'll probably wait until a friend is graduating or something. There are definitely some nice vacation spots around there.

Mike

SgtThrasher
02-14-11, 09:35 AM
I got bored and looked at it on Google earth.