PDA

View Full Version : Help with deciding between enlisted vs reserves

RFoster87
02-11-11, 11:03 AM
First, I would like to apologize if this topic has been covered before. I searched this forum and did not find a thread covering this.

I am 23 years old with a college degree and a full time job. I have decided to join the Marines for a variety of reasons, but the main one is to serve my country and join something greater than myself. I look forward to the challenge of completing something that will be the hardest, yet most rewarding thing I will ever do in my life.

My only question moving forward is to enlist or go reserves. Since I have my degree I have looked into OCS, but currently right now it is extremely competitive. I have great SAT scores but a below average gpa, and an underage drinking offense. I talked to my local OSO, and he recommended I look into going the reserve route. I would go to boot, then after I finish my MOS as a 0847 I can apply to OCS as a Marine. This will strengthen my application greatly.

My other option is to enlist and try for the ECP program. This timeline will take a bit longer. Most likely 3 to 4 years, but I will be able to get the MOS I most desire, which is Intel. I feel like enlisting will give me everything I am looking for out of this experience, while also preparing me to be a better officer. If I go reserves I could be in OCS next summer as compared to possibly 4 years from now. I feel deep down that if I really want to become an officer, it wont matter that I wait a few years. I was hoping I could get some insite into both options. Possible pro's and con's.

Thank you very much for your time answering this question, and to your service to our country.

Tennessee Top
02-11-11, 11:34 AM