PDA

View Full Version : Advice for 0321?

twalls93
01-19-11, 10:55 PM
Hey Marines,

I got a few questions for you, hope you can answer them for me.

Ive been talking to a recruiter since around July of 2010, and am 100% set on being a Marine. I have yet to go to MEPS, because of some paperwork problems for ADD from 6th grade, but that's all straightened out now, and I am supposed to go up to Fort Jackson at the beginning of February. Although I have not sworn my oath and all, my recruiter says my ship date will most likely be August/September. For a long time, I have been pretty deadset on going 0311, but I have been thinking about going all the way, and trying to get into Scout Sniper school. Now, don't flame me for such a childish statement. I understand that is by no means "easy" to get there. I know that most likely wouldn't happen until i've been in for several years, if at all. Now that I have started to think about taking this course of action, a few people have told me it would be in my best interests to pick 0321 as my primary MOS selection and 0311 as secondary. I have yet to bring this up with my recruiter, as he wants me to try Intel if I score high enough. Now, i know there is only a mediocre chance of getting straight into 0321, and that it is likely i will have to go 0311 and parallel to 0321 later on. On to my question though. I have read from several sources online that say I must get a 1st class swimming qual. to be eligible, but as I understand it, they don't do that in boot camp anymore. What would i have to do instead, and what would be my best move to have the best chance of getting 0321 as soon as I can? I also had problems with my ears, which stopped me from learning how to properly swim, but finally got that fixed recently, and that has all been cleared by MEPS. I can tread water and move, but as soon as the lake warms up and the pool on base reopens, I'm gonna fix the crap outa that problem.