PDA

View Full Version : Ocs/plc

tab2111
01-18-11, 08:42 PM
I am a current college student determined into becoming a Marine. My question is only about the route I should take to get there. I have looked into going through OCS/PLC as early as this coming summer, but have also considered joining the Reserves for the year and a half or so until I graduate with my college degree. I was just wondering if I did go into the reserves if it would be possible or easy to eventually go active duty after I graduate and also if it would make a difference in my ultimate goal of becoming an officer in the Marine Corps after graduation. I am obviously open to all the information, advice, and help I can receive so if anyone knows of anything they feel is worth sharing, I would appreciate it greatly.

0351 Corporal
01-18-11, 10:37 PM
Are you wanting to be a Marine Reserve Officer that wants to go active after 1 1/2 years, or are you wanting to be a Reserve Enlisted Marine that wants to go to OCS after 1 1/2 years?

tab2111
01-18-11, 11:39 PM
I envisioned being a Reserved Enlisted Marine and trying to go to OCS in 1 1/2 years, but I didn't know how being a Marine Reserve Officer would work out or if was possible since I wouldn't have a college degree for another 1 1/2 years. Isn't a degree needed to become an officer, whether it be active duty or reserve?

josephd
01-18-11, 11:42 PM
Don't bother with enlisting in the reserves IMO, get a PLC package started, go to OCS, finish school, and commission. I am speaking from experience here, once you enlist in the reserves you will get set back and caught up with being a Marine. Focus on school and staying out of trouble in order to get accepted into PLC.

0351 Corporal
01-19-11, 12:13 AM