PDA

View Full Version : Is there any chance I could recieve waivers [take 2]?

Cj1892
01-12-11, 10:49 PM
I used the search bar on this site and could not find questions really similar to mine. Also I asked this question before and didn't get responses because I had not filled out my profile, So I went and fixed that.[ Thanks to SoftballCatch23] Sorry for the inconvenience. Lets try again,

At a young age i was diagnosed with ADHD and Anxiety. At age 13, My anxiety kind of took over my life, I was a young kid who was afraid of alot of things. So my parents and I decided it was best for me to go into a children's psychiatric unit so my doctor could evaluate me and regulate my medicine. I am now 18. My Anxiety is completely gone. I no longer have problems with it at all. Not that this matters to anybody, but I am an interior firefighter for my local volunteer fire department, Just an example that things have changed significantly for me in 5 years. Now i have spoken to a recruiter twice already, He said I need to be off all my medication for 1 year with doctors approval. Then after 1 year medication free, get clearance that being off my medication i was still able to function properly in my social, work and academic life. I am currently only on 1 medication for ADHD that was supposed to help me function in school. I have never had a history of anxiety/panic attacks, It was mainly just generalized anxiety as a young kid. I know all 3 of these are possible DQ's, But if I go to MEPS with all the proper documentation from my Doctor, Do i stand any chance of receiving waivers? My recruiter has never given me a sure answer about this even though i have asked him several times. I want to become a Marine so bad, But I realize with my past problems this could never happen. I am fully aware that Bootcamp and the military as a whole is very mentally demanding, So I don't want to hear that its a bad idea for me. I have put forth so much thought into this and I will never know if