PDA

View Full Version : 5 year LCPL; No promotion in sight 0_o;

SDL
12-06-10, 08:52 PM
I am a drilling reservisit who has been a LCPL for almost 5 years and according to my current composite scores, there is no hope of picking up any time soon. Yes, I do know that the easiest answer I can get is to try to get meritoriously promoted. But that is not likely, as I am not exactly the s***hot Marine... but then again, am not a s***bag either. The reservists who I graduated with from MOS school have all picked up this past April... Two of them had comp scores lower than mine when I checked right before they moved it. So at this point, I'm trying to figure out exactly WHAT is keeping me from getting promoted. I was talking to a couple of CPLs at my unit this past weekend, and a few of them suggested that the problem MAY have been an admin error. I was wondering if anybody's ever experienced this kind of problem before. Could it really be their (or S-3) goof. My situation goes a little something like this...

I have never had a Page 11 before during the 5.5 years I've been in.
I have never had any NJPs before during the 5.5 years I've been in.
I have never gotten my rank reduced during the 5.5 years I've been in.
I have never FAILED the PFT during the 5.5 years I've been in (always been a 2nd class... never even dipped into 3rd class, amazingly enough).
I have never FAILED the CFT since it's inception into the Marine Corps (got a 3rd class last year, but a 2nd class this year).
I never unq'ed on the rifle range (though I have always been a rifle & pistol Marksman).
I was never overweight by Marine Corps standards, nor have I ever been considered a fat-body.
I was never non-rec'ed for promotion during the 5.5 years I've been in.
I have maxed out my MCIs that would count for promotion to CPL.
All my years as a drilling reservist are SAT years.